Florida enforcing primary seat-belt law

Drivers in Florida can be stopped if they or their front-seat passenger are not buckled up under a bill signed into law this week.

Signed into law by Governor Charlie Crist, the legislation makes Florida eligible for up to $35 million in federal grant money created in 2005 as an incentive for states to establish seat-belt laws.

While Florida’s fine for the non-moving seat-belt violation will be only be $30, studies show that drivers are 13% more likely to fasten their belts if they can be pulled over for it.

Afro-American lawmakers had earlier opposed the law, as it was seen as a ruse for pulling over those Driving While Black.

Share Button

Leave a comment

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *